Plans steam ahead for third phase

reavaya 1c

The far north-east of Joburg will also be connected to the City's Bus Rapid Transit system with a proposed third trunk route planned to link Parktown with Sandton and Alexandra.


Johannesburg's Bus Rapid Transit system's third phase is now in the planning stages, with the City of Johannesburg and the JDA proposing to implement a third trunk route to Alexandra and Sandton.

The route will split into two sections.

Section 15 of the BRT trunk route, of about 12.6 kilometres, will begin at the corner of Empire Avenue and Victoria Road in Parktown, proceed left at Empire Avenue and Clarendon Road and follow Louis Botha Avenue – which becomes Pretoria Main Road – until the intersection with Lees Street in Wynberg.

Section 8 of the BRT trunk route, of about four kilometres, will connect Alexandra to Sandton, in the north-east of Joburg. It is planned to start at the corner of Pretoria Main Road and Lees Street, cross over the M1 Highway via a proposed flyover, and continue left into Katherine Avenue then into West Street, terminating at the Sandton Gautrain Station precinct.

The JDA will be conducting public consultation meetings in respect of the two proposed sections.

Three transport interchanges and 10 new stations are part of the proposals. The three interchanges will be at Sandton, Alexandra and Westgate, where a number of station modules will be clustered together and there will be integration with other modes of transport, including walking and cycling.

New stations are proposed for Hillbrow, Grafton/Yeoville Bellevue/KES, Louis Botha Avenue, Doll House, Balfour, Corlett, Bramley, Wynberg, Athol and Sandton City.

Construction on both sections is expected to begin in January 2014 and finished by December 2015. In some cases, the work will require moving services such as water and/or sewage pipelines, electricity and telephone lines.