Second phase connects more people

reavaya 1b

A second trunk route has been added to Rea Vaya, the City’s flagship Bus Rapid Transit system. It links Soweto with Parktown, passing several hospitals and education institutions.


Joburg's Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) system brings fast, efficient and affordable transport to residents who had long been forgotten on the periphery – and the JDA is responsible for all its construction.

The BRT system is the City of Johannesburg’s flagship public transport initiative.

Phase 1A has been up and running since 2009, and buses began running along the Phase 1B route on 14 October 2013. The new phase gets people to and from hospitals like Rahima Moosa, Helen Joseph, Charlotte Maxeke, Brenthurst and Parklane as well as educational institutions such as University of Johannesburg, University of the Witswatersrand, Milpark College, John Orr Technical College, Parktown Boys High School, Barnato Park High School, Helpmekaar Hoër Skool, and National School of Arts.

It covers 93.22 kilometres of trunk, feeder and complimentary routes. Rea Vaya’s total coverage is 193.11 kilometres.

Phase 1B includes a trunk route running from Soweto through Noordgesig, Pennyville, Riverlea, Bosmont, Coronationville, Newclare, Westbury, Westdene, Melville, Auckland Park, Parktown and Braamfontein into the CBD.

Feeders run to and from Leaglen, Stormhill, Florida, Cresta, Yeoville and Parktown. There are additional feeders in Soweto from Pimville and Mapetla. These routes are now linked to the Metro Centre Rea Vaya loop, which travels to the inner city via Braamfontein.

A total of 48 stations are now operational, which have been constructed by the JDA. The agency will also complete a new depot in Booysens as part of this new phase.